Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    TL;DR: Can EU medical students graduating in UK find jobs in the NHS after graduating?

I'm a foreign student likely entering a UK medical school in 2016. I do own an EU passport but since I never lived in the UK before I will be paying int. fees.

I chose to apply to the UK unis despite the relatively expensive fees because I am told that possible reforms in immigration regulation against overseas students won't affect me (as I hold the EU passport). Also I've heard that some international students from UK med school couldn't work as doctors in UK but as long as I hold an EU passport I shouldn't face such problems.

But thanks to BREXITI am now very worried about my future. I've declined offers from local medical schools that is offering scholarship and is much much cheaper to study compared to UK because I'd like to go abroad for a GMC-recognised school and I know there should be a job at the end over there. However now that Brexit occurred I'm not sure if I'll still be able to find a job there. If I'm coming back to my home country to practice anyways (might be difficult) I should've accepted the offers from local unis to save my parents hundreds of thousands of pounds.

So does anyone have any idea what'll happen to EU students / int. students with EU passports after graduating? Can they still get foundation posts? Can they still work their way up as junior doctors/consultants?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by fc107)
    I'm a foreign student likely entering a UK medical school in 2016. I do own an EU passport but since I never lived in the UK before I will be paying int. fees.
    But you lived in the EU? Then you would pay home fees.