Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

What steps should I take now to improve my grades in third year? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi StudentRoom,

I'm currently studying History and Politics and i'm about to enter onto my third year of study, my second year has been a disappointment ending with a mid 2:2.

I have no excuses and have vowed to make sure that I do everything I can to succeed in third year and hopefully graduate with a 2:1 or beyond.

I'm writing this post as a way to ask people who have been through a similar experience for advice, or even just general tips on getting over failure and attaining goals within University.

-What steps or changes of habit have helped to improve your university achievement?

-Are there any books you recommend that can help with the technical side humanities based subjects, particulary regarding essay writing?

I'm aware that I've got a long road ahead of me, and that there is no quick fix solution all i'm asking for is a way to prepare for that road.

Thank you for taking the time to read this
    • Very Important Poster
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    Welcome Squad
    I can offer you some advice. Having achieved a first in all my modules in my final year having been set back in my 2nd year. Graduating with a first.

Your mentality needs to be positive throughout the year so aim high. None of this giving up mumbo jumbo, you don't want to graduate with a Desmond so aim for a first so you don't get too complacent.

As it is your final year you will have a dissertation to write, this should be your main priority as it most likely contributes more towards your final grade. With the rest of your modules, you should put in a lot of effort to make sure your coursework and exams are all achieving at least 70%. Try to get marking schemes or guides for the coursework to try and get an idea on how to achieve a particular mark.