Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am an AS level student who is very interested in applying to Cambridge for medicine. I have the nesscary grades but am not from a medical background. To increase my chances of succeeding at the interviews I want to apply for a course which will help me prepare. If any of you guys went to any courses which you found helpful please can you post the link to their site below.

Thank you

ReputationRep:
    Any help from the school?

Many of these private courses will be absurdly expensive and the vast majority of those going into the interviews will not have done them, just so you know. I'm also not convinced being from a medical family is a significant advantage - the questions they ask are not about medicine, after all.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by nexttime)
    Any help from the school?

Many of these private courses will be absurdly expensive and the vast majority of those going into the interviews will not have done them, just so you know. I'm also not convinced being from a medical family is a significant advantage - the questions they ask are not about medicine, after all.
    Hi,

Thank you for replying so fast! From what I've heard I think most the questions are scientific and thus having parents who have studied biology and chemistry at such a high level (because they will have done a medical degree) will be an advantage because they can pass on some of that knowledge.

If this is not the case do you know any questions which they may ask.

PS. Are you studying medicine at Cambridge?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Lily1973)
    Hi,

Thank you for replying so fast! From what I've heard I think most the questions are scientific and thus having parents who have studied biology and chemistry at such a high level (because they will have done a medical degree) will be an advantage because they can pass on some of that knowledge.