Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Performed oral on a girl the other night who has text me yesterday that she has herpes and that she should have told me.. well it's too f****** late now - what should I do? I went hospital they told me to do to a clinic however there are no clinics near by that do walk ins and all clinics are closed by the time I finish work (I have no sick days or holiday days left) and I work as a trader so it's not like I can just ask for a day off.

Also she gave me a blowjob - does this now mean I have herpes down below?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Have you ever had a cold sore? If you have, you already have at least one of the two strains of HSV. It's sufficiently common that clinics here don't bother to test for it, just treat any outbreaks. Without any symptoms, there's no point in going to the clinic unless you want to be tested for something else.

If she didn't have visible sores, it's unlikely that she's particularly infectious and if she has HSV sores on her genitals, then I don't think her mouth isn't going to be contagious.

There's no cure, but many people with HSV never get any symptoms and of those that do, the large majority find they get less serious and less frequent with time. Treatments help, but the drug companies that came up with them in the 1970s also came up with the 'OMG HERPES IS THE WORST THING EVER' campaign in order to sell them. Prior to that, genital herpes was simply seen as a cold sore and no-one much cared about them.

(Original post by unprinted)
    Have you ever had a cold sore? If you have, you already have at least one of the two strains of HSV. It's sufficiently common that clinics here don't bother to test for it, just treat any outbreaks. Without any symptoms, there's no point in going to the clinic unless you want to be tested for something else.