The Student Room Group

Failed final year due to portfolio

Hi all
I failed my final year at Manchester because of an unsatisfactory portfolio. This was my 2nd attempt at the year, so I was told I have to withdraw from the course. I have been working towards becoming a doctor for 7 years now, and to be told that all that effort was wasted is pretty devastating. I actually got honours on the written paper and a reasonably high pass on the OSCE, but since it's my 2nd attempt at the final year I don't have any chance for remediation. I'm submitting an appeal, but I was hoping I could get some advice on what to do if it's unsuccessful.

One option I had considered was either a graduate entry nursing or physician associate program. I have a 2.2 BSc in Medicine from St Andrews, which I hope should be good enough for the entry requirements. The problem is that I am a dual US/UK citizen but I lived in the US prior to starting my course, so I count as an international student for fees purposes. That means I'm ineligible for any of the nursing or PA programs which receive NHS bursaries (including the ones at Manchester, so I won't be able to transfer). I have also heard that nursing programs really dislike accepting failed medical students