Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    It's a bit grim up north, there is such a shortage of jobs, let alone graduate jobs.

I am 25, my career so far has been stop and start. I graduated at 22. I fear that I don't have a choice but to move down south as it really is a bit grim up north.

Don't like having to have the conversation with my parents and friends up here, but I don't want to waste my life.

Anyone in a similar position or know others who have been?

ReputationRep:
    My brother and our family live in Edinburgh and my brother graduated from Chemistry and found it impossible to find a job in Scotland. He moved down to Leeds and got a job there and lived there for a few years before finally finding a job in Grangemouth.(40 minutes away from Edinburgh) - although he moved back to Edinburgh he still had to travel 40 minutes everyday before finally finding a job in Edinburgh. I agree with you though, it is a bit grim but I totally say go for it because you may end up finding a job later on in life in your hometown anyway. He doesn't regret it at all as he met so many people and gotten a good experience out of it. I reckon he would still be willing to move away from Edinburgh if he finds a better paid/ranked job.

Good luck!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by sameehaiqbal)