Studying English as an International student

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone!

I've applied to study economics, but I've realised it's not something for me. I am half English, although Iwas born and brought up in Italy, and the English language is my passion. However, I've never studied English literature at school, and, although I feel my English is quite good, I still make some mistakes. In light of this, do you think I could try applying to study English lit next year with
    my current qualifications only (which include Italian lit) or would I have to do an A-level in English first? Finally, how hard is English lit at university level?

Thsnks

ReputationRep:
    Go for it it! If English language is your passion, why don't you apply for an English language degree?
    Your Italian lit qualification should be absolutely fine as the techniques you learn are more or less the same and everybody makes mistakes, even native speakers.
    I studied English for 4 years (one year of literature) before I went to England and took an AS-Level in English Literature and it wasn't harder than my course at home.
    I've been studying English for 7 years now and I'm starting an English lit degree in September and I'm pretty sure I'll be fine.

If you're willing to put some effort into it, you're probably not gonna struggle that much at uni. You might try and look at some modules online and the books they include and maybe read one or two so you get an idea of what it's gonna be like.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Nonoto)
    Hello everyone!

I've applied to study economics, but I've realised it's not something for me. I am half English, although Iwas born and brought up in Italy, and the English language is my passion. However, I've never studied English literature at school, and, although I feel my English is quite good, I still make some mistakes. In light of this, do you think I could try applying to study English lit next year with