Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys, I'm still a newbie to the whole flashing firmware concept and after doing much research, I have ultimately decided it's time to pop the cherry! However, I'm going to try flashing a custom rom on my old Samsung Galaxy S3 mini before I mess around with my s6.

So I have rooted the device with RootKing (a once step rooting application) and I have confirmed successful root via Root Checker. I have also downloaded CWM Recovery version 6.0.2.7 (I realise this may be outdated however, I'm pretty sure it was released after the S3 mini). Now, am I right in thinking that my next steps would be to download a compatible ROM and Gapps zip file to the phone, backup the current OS with CWM, and then clear cache, factory data and delvik before flashing the ROM?

Would this successfully upgrade my firmware on the device, also is the CWM back-up sufficient safety just in case something goes tits up?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    You'd do better visiting dedicated forums and looking at threads for people rooting their S3's. You'll get a full run down of everything you need to do with step by step instructions which will be far better than anyone here giving snippets of advice.

And it's far better than bricking your device because someone here said yes that sounds like the right thing to do but it turns out you weren't told to download a specific ROM for your firmware or something. There's also no one right way to do it and steps tend to vary depending on exactly what you're trying to flash.

I've rooted an S4 and a Note 5 and have dabbled with a few other devices and mods but would not at all be comfortable advising you on the step by step procedure for flashing a ROM to an S3 Mini. Go find a thread where someone has done it successfully and follow there instructions. XDA should have everything you need.

(Original post by King Leonidas)