Turn on thread page Beta

I'm an international student and would-be 1st year student and don't know if I should consider private housing.

What I don't like about college dorms is sharing toilets and more importantly the unavailability of rooms during holidays - I may not be able to fly back to my home country... so this makes everything very complicated - needing to find another place to live etc...

Any tips??
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    It's really not advisable, and many colleges won't allow first years to live out, unless they live with their parents. I think you'll find making friends with people at your college who do other subjects much easier if you live in, as you'll see them every day for meals, hang around the JCR together, etc.

ReputationRep:
    Haven't you got an offer from Catz?!? They usually allow internationals to stay in college during the vacations for the same rate you pay during term time. You just need one of your tutors to sign a vacation form.

ReputationRep:
    As you're going to be at Catz (at least I think you are - you seem to have changed your name), you should note that people ARE able to stay in their room throughout the holidays. You obviously have to pay, but plenty of people do stay, especially students from eastern Asia because travelling there and back is expensive and tiring.
    Also if you get an en-suite room, you'll most likely have to move to one that isn't, as conference guests understandably get the fancier rooms (they pay a LOT more for the room than you will, too).