The Student Room Group

Postgraduate degree in Politics?

I'm currently studying History BA at Huddersfield University, currently in line to get a 2:1 after my second year results. I don't think I want to do History if I do a postgraduate degree, but I would quite like to do Politics. A lot of my optional courses have been politically based and my dissertation is on a political topic. Does anyone know if I would be allowed to move to Politics from History? I've looked online and some universities require a "2:1 in a related discipline" which I assume means either a pure or joint Politics BA, but I've seen some say 2:1 in any discipline.

Furthermore, I'm looking at what universities might accept me. I want to stay in Huddersfield after university finishes, as my girlfriend lives here and I love the area. On my list now is: Manchester, Sheffield and Leeds. Does anyone know of any other universities in the area that do Politics MA? What are my chances of getting into a Russell Group university, coming from a former polytechnic?

Final point: how do you postgrads fund your study? All the courses I've seen are £5k–8k, which I'd be only able to afford if I got the maximum loan! But with rent as well and living costs, I wouldn't be able to live just off the postgraduate loan. How do you manage working a job and also putting your all into your studies?