Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I took OCR Computer Science last year and stopped enjoying it due to how it was taught mainly and also the poor lesson structuring, ultimately I decided to focus revising for my Alevel Mathematics instead and got an E in the CS exam, I changed the subject to business for year 13. However, I have yet to apply to university because I really have no clue what to study, part of me is saying to do accounting and finance because it works well wth my Maths and Business but another part is saying to do Computer Science because I know I'd enjoy it, but I'm worried I'll do badly at it at university having got an E at alevel... In addition to this, the E I have is putting me off applying because how can I justify that when applying for the same degree?? For maths I did Decision 1 as an additional module and I've heard that this could be particularly useful. My programming was pretty decent when I studied the subject and I definitely enjoyed it even when errors were made. Advice anyone???

ReputationRep:
    Computer science is not just programming. Look at different courses and check the specific modules. See if you would enjoy them or not. If it's programming that you find particularly interesting then try software development courses.

You could also do a joint mathematics and computer science course. In that case, if computer science isn't for you, you can gear towards more mathematics.

Keep in mind that some universities are more into theory while others prefer practical work so also check that when you're looking at the courses
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Do you enjoy programming?The Open University has a selection over Computer Science, Computing and IT, Software Development, Computing with Maths/Business/Psychology.

Good luck!
    • Very Important Poster
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    Welcome Squad