Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm sure this is probably old and worn but I was thinking earlier-

Do religious/theistic arguments, through having revelation as a 'truth', however much worth one assigns to it, have an advantage over those of the atheist? For example, the religious person may have, or at least claim to have, the truths of their belief revealed to them; is there such a circumstance in which the atheist may be as certain? The nature of atheism surely denies any claim to such transcendent knowledge.

I discount empirical evidence as when it comes down to it one can only argue as far back as the big bang on either side in my opinion.

For the record, I am staunchly agnostic.

Sorry again if this is done often but I don't really get much opportunity for similar debate in real life, ha.

EDIT - On deliberation maybe this should be in Religion. Sorry, I am not very good at this!

ReputationRep:
    I'm not entirely sure what you're asking, could you clarify please?

ReputationRep:
    Of course, sorry:

It seems to me that, specific religions aside and irrelevant, both the theist and atheist can really only argue back as far as that "first moment", whatever it may be; whilst the theist can and often will argue outside of the phenomenal world familiar to us, in terms of cause and being, the atheist cannot, and thus may be doomed simply to state "the big bang" as their theory of the universe's conception which appears to me a dead end.

I understand that many do believe in realities outside of our reality but as far as I see it any cause beyond may as well be theistic as talk of a transcendent cause for our being seems to be effectively admitting to some divine power.

So, I am wondering if there were theories to reconcile this or if I am just following a nonsensical line of thought; it seems to me that the arguments of the theist are able to account for more.

I hope that made sense =/ I'm really sorry.

ReputationRep: