Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello all,

I would just like to get a definitive answer on what funding I will be eligible for when I apply for 2017, now that the NHS bursaries have been scrapped.

I originally studied Mathematics and Spanish language, graduating in 2011, and received both tuition fee and maintenance loans at the time. I now wish to re-train as a midwife but, as I need time to complete an Access Course to get the relevant foundations for the science-based course, I will be applying for September 2017 entry.

Can I apply for tuition fee and maintenance loans from Student Finance? Are any of these means-tested? I think I will be applying for the three-year BSc midwifery qualification, given that my degree is not relevant to nursing/midwifery.

Thank you for the help,
    Rachel
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by rkelley89)
    Hello all,

I would just like to get a definitive answer on what funding I will be eligible for when I apply for 2017, now that the NHS bursaries have been scrapped.

I originally studied Mathematics and Spanish language, graduating in 2011, and received both tuition fee and maintenance loans at the time. I now wish to re-train as a midwife but, as I need time to complete an Access Course to get the relevant foundations for the science-based course, I will be applying for September 2017 entry.

Can I apply for tuition fee and maintenance loans from Student Finance? Are any of these means-tested? I think I will be applying for the three-year BSc midwifery qualification, given that my degree is not relevant to nursing/midwifery.

Thank you for the help,
    Rachel