Turn on thread page Beta

AS German VS GCSE Chinese watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Ok so as an enrichment activity (on top of my four core subjects which are maths, economics, history and biology) I can choose to do either GCSE Mandarin or AS German (I studied German at GCSE), I am working towards a career in business hopefully international business so would a foundation of chinese be more useful to me or furthering my knowledge of German and getting another AS >< ?
    Thanks

ReputationRep:
    I would say probably the chinese would be more useful, as it becoming (or is?) an economic superpower. If you already have the basics of German then unless you won't to do something that requires german, it would make more sense to learn chinese. If you really want to further your knowledge in German, then you could always get one of those discs that help you learn, or a book?

ReputationRep:
    chinese

ReputationRep:
    Unless you plan to continue studying Chinese afterwards, the GCSE is practically worthless. Doing AS German would leave you with some more tangible language skills. In terms of enrichment and enjoyment (and showing flair, and so on!) then I'd definitely go for Chinese. Just please don't choose it because of its utility as it takes a very long time to learn!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Piers-)
    Unless you plan to continue studying Chinese afterwards, the GCSE is practically worthless. Doing AS German would leave you with some more tangible language skills. In terms of enrichment and enjoyment (and showing flair, and so on!) then I'd definitely go for Chinese. Just please don't choose it because of its utility as it takes a very long time to learn!
    I agree. It takes a long time to learn chinese good enough for it to actually be useable in a business situation. Germany is also the biggest economy in Europe, I think, (albeit nowhere near as big as China's). So it would be useful in Business.