Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I am currently a student about to go into second year studying mathematics. I would very much like to do a year in industry during my course but have hardly any experience. The only kind of job experience is working in a self employed catering business like counter jobs etc.
    I was just wondering, do companies that do placements look for a lot of experience? If yes, what would be the best advice to gain experience related to my maths degree? Like would it be better
    to look for a job whilst studying? Also any advice on where to look?

Thank you.
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by Pelly360)
    Hello, I am currently a student about to go into second year studying mathematics. I would very much like to do a year in industry during my course but have hardly any experience. The only kind of job experience is working in a self employed catering business like counter jobs etc.
    I was just wondering, do companies that do placements look for a lot of experience? If yes, what would be the best advice to gain experience related to my maths degree? Like would it be better

Thank you.
    It really depends on what industry you're going in. A lot of careers allow you to demonstrate transferable skills through work experience, part time jobs and volunteering. What have you got in mind?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Slowbro93)
    It really depends on what industry you're going in. A lot of careers allow you to demonstrate transferable skills through work experience, part time jobs and volunteering. What have you got in mind?
    Thanks for replying well I am not proper decisive yet I was thinking along the lines of technology based careers or maybe engineering that allows
    you to apply maths.
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer