Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I've been looking at buying a car and I've found some pretty decent ones for around the 3K mark, (good age, good mileage, ect)

Is it better to pay in cash or finance the car?

I do have a job so I can afford monthly payments but surely it's better (and cheaper) to pay it all upfront ?

Also (This is probably a dumb question) but i'm a student and i've lived bills included for three years so I don't have any credit or anything...Can i even GET finance?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jackieox)
    I've been looking at buying a car and I've found some pretty decent ones for around the 3K mark, (good age, good mileage, ect)

I do have a job so I can afford monthly payments but surely it's better (and cheaper) to pay it all upfront ?

Also (This is probably a dumb question) but i'm a student and i've lived bills included for three years so I don't have any credit or anything...Can i even GET finance?
    for 3k better off paying cash, finance is only for poser's. We have millions of poser's in the UK now.
    • Community Assistant
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Welcome Squad

Cash. It'll cost more paying by finance in the long run. Plus, if you pay for it up front you have the security of not oweing anyone anything.

ReputationRep:

Cash.
    Buying on finance costs more- with the interest on top etc.
    Plus the fact that if you have paid for the car in cash- at least its all brought and paid for- you dont owe anyone anything- and you have the security of knowing that you wont have the monthly payments to afford for the next however long.

ReputationRep:

cash is king, winner takes all
    I will always buy a car with cash upfront and a part exchange
    that what I did when I bought my Mercedes about a month ago
    Spoiler:
    Show