Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

As part of my university course we are required to go on a trip for 3 weeks to immerse ourselves fully in the language we are studying. I'm a first year student heading into second, my fellow colleagues/peers are lovely, but I feel as though they are all in cliques because they know each other (many of them went to high school together). I feel like the odd one out and I want to enjoy myself on this trip but I'm afraid I won't fit in.

Any advice on how to enjoy myself and get along with everyone, without feeling left out? I know this may seem like a high school dilemma but I've been worried about this for a while and as a result have convinced myself that I don't want to go when I actually want to.

Thank you!!

ReputationRep:
    Hi, PinkOwls! It seems to me that you are an introverted person and I know exactly how you feel. Perhaps you could pay attention on what they are interested in, what they talk about the most (besides high school memories, of course) and try to participate on their conversations to get closer to them and not be feeling left out on this trip. Sometimes you just start a conversation with one person and this person brings you to the whole group after a certain level of friendship, which is so much fun! If this doesn’t work, remember that you don’t need anyone to make you happy except for yourself! And after all this, you might want to take something that makes you happy on the trip, like a really good book for example and the most important thing, don’t give up on your trip! This is such an incredible opportunity and you can create a lot of great memories! Life is an adventure and this is just your first year at the Uni! Maybe this trip is the opportunity you’ve been waiting for to get closer to your classmates! Don't worry, after a couple of years you’ll probably laugh at this.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant