Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I am 20 years old and really struggling with deciding my future.

I left school early during secondary school due to illness with only GCSE Core Science B, GCSE Mathematics C, GCSE English Language C and GCSE Additional Science C. I then went to work in a residential home and completed my QCF Health and Social Care Level 2.

It is my dream to study medicine but due to my qualifications I gave up on the idea and looked at other things I could do. So I applied to do an evening course for access to health care professions with the idea that I would do a nursing degree afterwards. However, I began working in a hospital as a HCA and work alongside many health care professionals, and none of their jobs appeal to me other than medicine.
    I feel that if I studied something else just because I thought I couldn’t do medicine I will always regret that I didn’t try, so I have been looking into all of my options.

I have looked at access to medicine courses, however they are all too far away and I couldn’t afford to move or travel there whilst studying full time.
    I know that I will have to complete my A levels, the issue is that I cannot do an a level course here while I am working full time and would have to quit my job and couldn’t afford to pay rent. I had been looking into taking the exams as a private candidate and doing self-study, however this turned out to be too complicated and very expensive.

My only option seems to be that I quit my job and move back in with my parents for 2 years and do my a levels.
    So I have applied to a college near my parents to do biology, chemistry, psychology and Italian (as I believe most unis like you to take an 4th AS level?)

My question is, if I go through all of this to get my a levels, do I even stand a chance at getting in with my GCSE grades? Or will I have to retake them as well?