Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey!

I have just finished my first year at university and I will start my second at the end of September. I am studying International Studies (All to do with politics) and Irish (Language). I have never studied politics before so starting university I wanted to try something new, to get out of my comfort zone and I really enjoy it.

I am disappointed with my results as I finished with a high 2:2 overall. I would spend weeks preparing for an essay that I got a high third on, to be told that I asked too many rhetorical questions in my essay and gave my opinion to strongly on certain events in politics. I understand now that I shouldn't do that as lecturers don't appreciate that. I am trying my damnedest to get a 2:1 or a first but I don't know how. I have missed about two lectures all year due to exceptional circumstances. I haven't got a part time job, I focus the majority of my time on my uni work and it annoys me that my hard work doesn't seem to be paying off. The only thing that I was overly happy with this year was that I did better in second semester, and a module that I got a 3rd on in my essay I ended up getting a 2:1 in the exam due to working my backside off and learning many possible essay questions. I am so much better with exams, but this year my university are doing away with them and bringing in "Open book exams" basically we will be given a topic to study but we won't get the essay questions until a week prior to the exam, this shouldn't be too bad for me as I can prepare for it like I would an exam, but I need to improve.

Has anyone been in this position and could advise me on how to improve for second year and what to do to ensure a great grade this year?

many thanks!!

ReputationRep: