Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I currently work in retail, a dead end job if you will, and have been offered a Legal PA job in a small law firm, and is an ideal step towards helping me qualify as a lawyer in the future. Problem is, I was asked to undertake an unpaid work trial for three months before I'm paid slightly more than what I'm earning in my retail position. During this work trial I will be trained on the job. The job itself will give me all the necessary Legal PA experience to apply for much higher salary Legal PA jobs in the future though.

I have until Monday morning to decide if I want to accept this job. If I accept it, I will be relying a lot of my credit card to survive. I've done the budgeting and I can manage, but it's going to be two-three months of barely having any disposable income and eating basic foods.

I also have one other company who said I interviewed well. It's for a Legal Admin job and the company provides services to courts, gov bodies and law firms, and isn't a law firm itself. The salary is substantially higher than what I'm currently earning which will help fund studying further qualifications, but they're still deciding. The Legal Admin job is basically transcription work, communicating with clients and general admin duties. The transcription experience should help me land better paying jobs in the future.