Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone, I was just wondering how you all went about choosing a degree course and HOW you knew you wanted to do it!
    How do you know you have some form of interest??? How do you know your interests???

ReputationRep:
    For me, it was the subject i most enjoyed in sixth form and i had an epiffany moment and thought i wanted to study something (still kind of do) but i found that i couldn't as i hadnt taken the right choices for my a levels, so i am studying a similar course in hopes for being able to secure the job i want

ReputationRep:
    I didn't know what I wanted to do by the end of 6th year, so I took a year out, worked a bit, and moved out. I'd been learning Danish on and off for a couple years, and realised that if I wanted to be any good at it, I had to work for it. A trip to Copenhagen and more research into the language helped me realise how much I love it, and I really enjoyed researching grammar as well. I ended up applying for an Open Uni degree in languages, which I can't wait to start.
    There's got to be something you enjoy doing. Whatever it is, look into it and see if there's something that strikes a chord with you, and have a think about what you could do with it. If you still can't decide, why not take a year out to work and see if you develop an interest in something else?

ReputationRep:
    I know I do have interests but I just can't seem to pin point them and it is really scaring me!?!?!

ReputationRep:
    I had a lot of interests at the time also, I loved Psychology, English, Maths, IT, Animal Welfare etc. so it was pretty frustrating. Ultimately, it came down to job prospects, what would be the most translatable degree if I decided I didn't want to work in that field anymore but would be a very good degree to have on my CV regardless of job area.