Turn on thread page Beta

strength training watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    hi everyone

i'm on a mission to lose 30lbs to get back to 115 lbs, i have my food sorted and cardio but it's just strength training i'm a bit iffy on now

i do resistance training about three times a week for 30 mins but i don't really feel like i've achieved much (apart from the tricep machine, ouch) afterwards. i've heard strength training is really good to get a lean look whilst losing weight which is good for me because i don't want to lose 30lbs and still be a bit wobbly

but where do i start? i'm literally next to clueless in this field, any tips given would be absolutely appreciated. are the resistance machines ok? i'd rather not do things with dumbells just yet because i'm still a bit of a beginner and like to think before leaping :p: but if dumbells are absolutely the only and best way to strength train then i'll do it

thanks very much

im female btw

ReputationRep:
    It would help if you mention your diet and exercise routine because its really hard to to calculate your progress. There is a such thing as over-training. If you just started I'll say take it slow in the beginning and track your progress, you won't see the results over night.
    I'm going to say that most professional trainers would say that strength training requires more energy and builds muscle whereas cardio aims for the opposite. So you have to strike a balance which is possible with a good work routine. I'd say just keep doing what you are doing.

I would HIGHLY recommend posting this in a bodybuilding / fitness forum for females http://forum.bodybuilding.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14 for some professional female input.

ReputationRep:
    thank you

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LOST)
    I would HIGHLY recommend posting this in a bodybuilding / fitness forum for females http://forum.bodybuilding.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14 for some professional female input.