Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hiiii! So I have a trial shift in a small cafe for a part time summer job tomorow, and I have no past experience working in a place that provides food and drink (this will be my first job) so I'm very nervous and unsure of what I should expect. Can anyone give me advice on how to impress the manager? What I should expect? And any advice would helpful really because I'm really determined to succeed tomorow.
    Thank youu!

ReputationRep:
    Café work can be stressful, so try and keep calm! (I've worked in a café before and my goodness, it was hectic). Keep your hands clean, hair tied back. Look smart? Um, be enthusiastic and open to learning new things - and don't worry about asking too many questions. It's better that you understand what you're doing (I don't know what they'll train you on first) than get too muddled! Your manager will understand :-)

Be polite to the team & customers... uh, and keep yourself busy! So, for instance, if you can't think of anything to do, don't just stand around mindlessly. Maybe clean a counter? Tidy the crockery? But I'm sure you'll be fine! Good luck though!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ellsy95)
    Café work can be stressful, so try and keep calm! (I've worked in a café before and my goodness, it was hectic). Keep your hands clean, hair tied back. Look smart? Um, be enthusiastic and open to learning new things - and don't worry about asking too many questions. It's better that you understand what you're doing (I don't know what they'll train you on first) than get too muddled! Your manager will understand :-)

Be polite to the team & customers... uh, and keep yourself busy! So, for instance, if you can't think of anything to do, don't just stand around mindlessly. Maybe clean a counter? Tidy the crockery? But I'm sure you'll be fine! Good luck though!