Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    hey

I'm a 6th form student, just finished my AS exams and will be applying for uni in september to read English Literature. I am hoping to apply for; oxbridge (not decided just yet as to which one), birmingham, bristol, KCL and Durham.

Although i read a lot and have covered a lot of the main 'classics' as well as exploring own personal interest areas such as early African American Literature and the work of early 20th century US authors, i'm worried that i haven't read widely enough to justify applying to study the subject at such prestigious universities. :confused:

So i was wondering, (those of you who have offers / study english already at uni) how widely had you read by the time of your application?

Also, as i have summer break coming up, i'm intending to get through a lot more reading, any suggestions of what would be useful to read would be really helpful.

Thank you!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ReputationRep:
    Around 3 foot and 7 inches.

ReputationRep:
    I've secured a conditional place for English at Exeter University, and I didn't mention much about the extent of my private reading, except for commenting on certain books I'd enjoyed in my English A level course in my personal statement.
    I dont think the universities really have much clue about your reading from your UCAS application, but if you went to an Oxbridge interview then they will probably ask you more about it.
    But solely for the UCAS application, I wouldnt worry much about your wider reading, mine was basically zilch according to my personal statement. Only worry about it if you have to go for an interview, where they will ask you more about these things.

ReputationRep:
    I would advise devoting the majority of your personal statement to your reading. That's what Cambridge, UCL, Durham and KCL specifically advise.