The Student Room Group

Gap Year To Australia

I'm just about to go into year 13. And I don't have much of an idea of what I want to do in the future. Due to this I feel going to uni in a years time might not be the best idea for me.
So I was thinking of a gap year. I could work out there, build up experience and earn money etc.
I've read about them online but I'm unsure of a few things. I was wondering if anyone can give me any useful info, whether you just know about them or have been to Australia on a gap year yourself. Some things I'm wondering about are, is it really expensive to do it? Are there ways in which I could do it through a gap year project then I get job help and help with other things etc. But not have accommodation? as I have people out there I could stay with.

I'm new to this and was just wanting people's thought and opinions to see if it would be something worth doing.
Original post by Wild__1
I'm just about to go into year 13. And I don't have much of an idea of what I want to do in the future. Due to this I feel going to uni in a years time might not be the best idea for me.
So I was thinking of a gap year. I could work out there, build up experience and earn money etc.
I've read about them online but I'm unsure of a few things. I was wondering if anyone can give me any useful info, whether you just know about them or have been to Australia on a gap year yourself. Some things I'm wondering about are, is it really expensive to do it? Are there ways in which I could do it through a gap year project then I get job help and help with other things etc. But not have accommodation? as I have people out there I could stay with.

I'm new to this and was just wanting people's thought and opinions to see if it would be something worth doing.

Hi there!

Gap years can be a great opportunity to take a breather and figure out what your next move is-don't worry, you're not alone!