Is a masters in Ecology impossible? Watch

grandcaptain
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi y'all

So in high school I took a course in Ecology and I was hooked. Since then I've completed online courses in the subject and been on a few conservation trips as I find it so interesting. I would have loved to have studied it in uni, but it was too late in the year to consider changing around all of my subjects to fit a degree in science. I'm in my first year studying Theatre (BA) right now, which is really great, but it was one of the only degree I could be happy with doing given my high school course choices.

I am really interested in applying for a taught master's in Ecology. I know it will be difficult as I'm not doing a science degree. Does anyone know if my dedication and passion for pursueing the subject outside of my own degree might get me into the programme? Would there be anything else I can do to help my case? Also I'd like to know if this is way too farfetched in the first place lol.
Leviathan1741
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
I don't think it's impossible. I've just had a look at the entry requirements for a few MSc Ecology/related degrees, and most of them say something along the lines of if an applicant has a non-science background, then relevant work experience in conservation/related areas could also be considered. I'd suggest getting in touch with some of the unis offering the degrees you're interested in, explaining the situation and asking them whether they would accept you based on your online qualifications, enthusiasm and experience
post-grad-u-ate
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
You have to be realistic here.

A degree in theatre is taking you to a completely different world than ecology, but you say that from an earlier age you found it interesting and from this there is no reason why you couldn't get involved with local conservation efforts to take your mind off of your career in theatre in your leisure time.