Medicine in Ireland vs Medicine in England/Scotland

Announcements Posted on
Four things that unis think matter more than league tables 08-12-2016

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

I am a student from Germany. I will be taking the German Abitur (equivalent to A-Level) next year. After that I want to study Medicine in Ireland or England/Scotland. For German students the entry requirements in Ireland are a bit lower than in England or Scotland. England or Scotland are my favourite but I am looking for alternatives in case I get rejected. Can one tell me if there is a big difference between the system in England and the system in Ireland? What about the reputation?

Cheers!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by phil730d)
    Hey guys,

I am a student from Germany. I will be taking the German Abitur (equivalent to A-Level) next year. After that I want to study Medicine in Ireland or England/Scotland. For German students the entry requirements in Ireland are a bit lower than in England or Scotland. England or Scotland are my favourite but I am looking for alternatives in case I get rejected. Can one tell me if there is a big difference between the system in England and the system in Ireland? What about the reputation?

Cheers!
    the UK and Ireland are completely seperate countries now, and so yes the medical schools in both of these countries are very different.
    I remember noting upon application that entry to an Irish university for medicine is very competative as there are few schools and a large number of applicants, you also have to have really great academics and a really good entrance exam score.

In the UK it is more varied, there are many medical schools each requiring different things for entry.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by phil730d)
    Hey guys,

Cheers!
    Hi, I'm an Irish student applying to Irish and UK unis for medicine entry 2017.