Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Feel really let down by my family due to foster child. Am I selfish? watch

It's been making me feel really bad lately, to the point where I felt like giving up altogether.

Basically I'm a uni student and I haven't been very well during my studies. My extended family insisted on me living with them for the next academic year and commuting to uni and paying them rent, which I agreed with.

They had allocated me a room, however they have said I can no longer have that room because all of a sudden they sprung it on me that they are going to foster a child and they need that room.

They said I have to have another room which is extremely small. I cannot even fit a single adult bed in this room and I measured the room and it is around 2m^2 smaller than what a landlord can legally let out. I'm not sure how I will survive and actually get my work done etc.

I feel extremely sad as I have already applied for a reduced loan and I go to uni in central london and at this late stage it is going to be difficult find and afford a private property.

Am I being spoilt? What should I do?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    It's been making me feel really bad lately, to the point where I felt like giving up altogether.

Basically I'm a uni student and I haven't been very well during my studies. My extended family insisted on me living with them for the next academic year and commuting to uni and paying them rent, which I agreed with.

They had allocated me a room, however they have said I can no longer have that room because all of a sudden they sprung it on me that they are going to foster a child and they need that room.

They said I have to have another room which is extremely small. I cannot even fit a single adult bed in this room and I measured the room and it is around 2m^2 smaller than what a landlord can legally let out. I'm not sure how I will survive and actually get my work done etc.