Turn on thread page Beta

Would I be accepted? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    This is a hypothecal question, but presuming I was offered a conditional place on a course with BBB, would I still get accepted if I did badly in one subject but did better than expected in the other two, getting AAD?

I'm not in this situation, but I am worried that come next august, I might not do too well in my weakest subject, and do better than expected in my others.
    • Political Ambassador

ReputationRep:
    Political Ambassador
    (Original post by Tortent)
    This is a hypothecal question, but presuming I was offered a conditional place on a course with BBB, would I still get accepted if I did badly in one subject but did better than expected in the other two, getting AAD?
    I am not an expert on matters of admission, but here is my opinion.

The combination of grades need to be relevant to the course that you want to study. Just getting AAD (English, Dance and Maths respectively) will not mean much, if you scored the D in Maths and want to study Maths at University; when the required grades was a B or an A.

Some people like to throw letters around like "Oh, I want to study Physics at University, but I got A*AE." When one looks closer, one soon founds out that the E was in Physics.

If you want to study Chemistry at University and you perform badly in the key subject i.e. Chemistry A' Levels, then it will be difficult to get in, unless you are lucky and the University is rather lenient.

If you are going to need a combination of grades for your offer, then you are encouraged to meet the grades for the each subject.

My advice is to work hard to achieve more than your offer grades rather than trying to get close to the required grade for your course.

Good luck.
    • Community Assistant
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Very Important Poster