Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Need a crash course on finding accomodation. watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

So I'm an international student who's going to be starting university next month, and unfortunately the university has allocated me housing which I cannot afford (around £1k over my budget) so I'm scrambling now to find a room which is all new to me.

Appreciate if you guys could educate me a bit on some general do's and don't before I commit into anything. I'm currently using Spareroom, and one question I had is whether listings by "former flatmates" are safe to deal with?

If anyone could give me the general process of how this all works it'd be much appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lightning count)
    Hi all,

So I'm an international student who's going to be starting university next month, and unfortunately the university has allocated me housing which I cannot afford (around £1k over my budget) so I'm scrambling now to find a room which is all new to me.

Appreciate if you guys could educate me a bit on some general do's and don't before I commit into anything. I'm currently using Spareroom, and one question I had is whether listings by "former flatmates" are safe to deal with?

If anyone could give me the general process of how this all works it'd be much appreciated.
    At the very least get a skype tour of the place- do not sign for somewhere without seeing it with your own eyes first. If you don't have a UK based guarentor ask how much rent the landlord will want up front. Remember prices normally don't include bills- these are usually around £40pm.

ReputationRep: