Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I know it is the quality not the quantity of experience that counts. However, I have been out of the workforce for the last 10 years as I was raising my children. I am currently an OU undergrad student where my time is free during the day as the children are at school.

I am currently looking at volunteer placements but I don't know how much I am expected to do each week? If I need to do something everyday or only a few hours a month. I am so grateful that I had the years just concentrating on my children but I feel this has put me at a massive disadvantage. When it comes to people who have been working without a break.

Any guidance will be greatly appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Bellx1)
    Hi,
    I know it is the quality not the quantity of experience that counts. However, I have been out of the workforce for the last 10 years as I was raising my children. I am currently an OU undergrad student where my time is free during the day as the children are at school.

I am currently looking at volunteer placements but I don't know how much I am expected to do each week? If I need to do something everyday or only a few hours a month. I am so grateful that I had the years just concentrating on my children but I feel this has put me at a massive disadvantage. When it comes to people who have been working without a break.

Any guidance will be greatly appreciated!
    Hi Bell,

You've already hit the nail on the head in terms of quality not quantity.

So, in order to fulfil that you are better off a couple of hours which you can fully commit to every week then going in excess and stopping after one month. Even 2-3 hours one afternoon each week would be really useful to your application. Some hospitals, for example, require 6 months commitment with 3 hours a week. So, check what you have to commit to before you sign up.