Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

Sorry I know this question has been done to death but wanted to know what you guys think of my particular situation:

I am a recent grad from Oxford with a First Class degree in a social science. I have quite a variety of experiences but nothing like president or VP of a society - instead it's more roles as a volunteer consultant, policy researcher for a society, communications roles for societies etc. I've just finished an internship with the Civil Service this summer and did a 1 week Marketing 'internship' with a company last summer.

I was pretty sure I wanted to work in the public sector, but after completing the internship I want something much more fast paced and high pressured, and I want to be pushed more which I didn't get during my internship (and watching full time staff it seems to be the same in grad roles). So this is why I'm considering applying for private sector jobs - but I want to know whether given my grades but lack of consulting internship or impressive society roles it's worth applying? If not, are there similar sectors that I might be interested in??

Thanks! X
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by roflcakes1)
    Hi all,

Sorry I know this question has been done to death but wanted to know what you guys think of my particular situation:

I am a recent grad from Oxford with a First Class degree in a social science. I have quite a variety of experiences but nothing like president or VP of a society - instead it's more roles as a volunteer consultant, policy researcher for a society, communications roles for societies etc. I've just finished an internship with the Civil Service this summer and did a 1 week Marketing 'internship' with a company last summer.