The Student Room Group

Somerville, PPE and/or Reading lists. Help needed.

Hi! Basically I'm an international student from Latvia, and I've just received a confirmation of my place to read PPE in Somerville. (YAY!) Frankly, I'm very, very unseasy about this all, because I feel I'm too stupid to succeed in any university at all, not to speak of Oxford. I don't even feel that I know Englsih well enough to understand everything I'm supposed to study.

Basically, I'm absoulutely clueless in the application process, so I have no idea what am I expected to do now. Wait for another letter? Just show up in Oxford in October, looking all lost and confused? I probably need to get a final letter from UCAS, but since my results were sent directly to my college, I don't know how will UCAS even know that I'm accepted. Will Somerville notify them, or is this my own responsibility?

Also many people have been taliking about the reading lists. Was I supposed to receive one already, or will it be sent to me some time later? Does anyone know whether there is a reading list for PPE at Somerville at all?

And all general information about Someriville would be very helpful. Many people on this board seem to have rather negative opinions about it, and it seems from the discussions that it's not the richest or the most academic college in Oxford (which is fine with me). And it has been yo-yoing in the Norrington table over the past years, so I can't even judge from that. (Not that you can ever judge a college by that table, but at least it offers some information).
So what is the atmosphere in Somerville? What is it known for, what are the advantages/disadvantages of being there, et cetera.

I know that I have asked a lot of questions, but this really reflects how confused I am. So help me, please. :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1