Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Getting an internal referral, how does this increase my chances of landing a job? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I am a graduate with a degree in the arts, and I know somebody who works within a large multinational corporation.

He and another employee passed on my CV and dropped my name to senior figures in the organisation last summer- letting them know I was a graduate looking for work.

At the time, the head of department was impressed with my CV and there were roles advertised, however nothing came of it.

Recently, I received word on the grapevine that said manger was promoted and is the director of her department. There are multiple roles within my discipline created, and I was sent the email chain- showing comms between several employee's. Turns out she remembered me and basically asked if I'd be interested in any of the roles.

On the application form it asked if I had been referred by a current employee, and and I supplied the email of that employee (the director). She isn't the hiring manager, but she is above them.

She didn't directly refer me, however, another guy did, she just remembered my application last year.

How likely is it that I will get hired? Clearly I'd need to pass an interview but how certain is it? Anybody have any stories to tell?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by royal1990)
    I am a graduate with a degree in the arts, and I know somebody who works within a large multinational corporation.

He and another employee passed on my CV and dropped my name to senior figures in the organisation last summer- letting them know I was a graduate looking for work.

At the time, the head of department was impressed with my CV and there were roles advertised, however nothing came of it.