Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,This is my first time posting in this section. My mental health is something I tend to hide in a box at the back of my mind and paint a smile on my face.

But today, on the brink of tears, I need to get it off my chest.

I've suffered poor health since I was a child (arthritis, back issues, partially sighted, going blind). Depression has played a massive part in my life, but I can usually find something positive to pull me out of the abyss (usually my children, work, studies).

I'm due to get married this year, I'm already overweight at a size 16 and 5ft 9 and my plan was to lose weight - as many brides do! But, due to many reasons (poor eating habits, comfort eating, medications) I've only lost a small amount of weight. My wedding is now in less than 2 weeks and I tried on some evening dresses and felt absolutely disgusting. I feel like I've failed myself, my family and my husband to be.

We have been together 13 years, when he got with me I was a slim 9 stone. Now I'm just under 13. I'm not the person he fell in love with all those years ago. He says he loves me as I am, but does he really? Or is this the little monsters at the back of my head? I feel like going upstairs and crawling under my duvet and shut off the whole world. It's too late to make a huge impact on my weight now even if I was in the right mindset.

I feel so, so lost.

ReputationRep:
    if i fell in love with a girl and she put on weight it would mean literally nothing to me and so im sure your husbands telling the truth, noones harsher on you and yourself so just remember that!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JNDSAN)
    if i fell in love with a girl and she put on weight it would mean literally nothing to me and so im sure your husbands telling the truth, noones harsher on you and yourself so just remember that!