Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello there,

I'm studying Mechanical Engineering and going into my 2nd year soon. Unfortunately I got a 2.2 which isn't that great
    With placement opportunities for my 3rd year coming up. I wanted to know what is the likelihood of getting a placement and what should I do to increase my chances?
    Anyone who has been in a similar position, I would love your opinions.

Thanks
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by Dranzerrr)
    Hello there,

I'm studying Mechanical Engineering and going into my 2nd year soon. Unfortunately I got a 2.2 which isn't that great
    With placement opportunities for my 3rd year coming up. I wanted to know what is the likelihood of getting a placement and what should I do to increase my chances?

Thanks
    I mean, like, it's definitely harder if you're currently achieving at the 2:2 level but there is so much more to it than that, and hence no one can tell you your chances... Try to bring it up to a 2:1. Make strong, targeted applications, network etc. to boost your chances.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Smack)
    I mean, like, it's definitely harder if you're currently achieving at the 2:2 level but there is so much more to it than that, and hence no one can tell you your chances... Try to bring it up to a 2:1. Make strong, targeted applications, network etc. to boost your chances.
    Thanks for that.

Yeah defs need to put in more effort for the semester 1 exams. If I am able to get a 2.1 for those is that likely to help?
    Also, are my chances better with smaller companies since they probably don't emphasise on grades as much??
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Yeah defs need to put in more effort for the semester 1 exams. If I am able to get a 2.1 for those is that likely to help?