Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Which mathematics and further mathematics modules are the easiest? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I am a retake studentthis year I am doing maths and further maths and will be starting again from year 12I had AAD for C1, C2, M1I am still surprised how low I got for M1 and thats the reason I am taking it. I love mechanics and find statistics extremely difficult. So over the two years is this the easiest mathematics module set?AS Maths- C1, C2, M1 A2 Maths- C3, C4, M2

Further AS MATHS- FP1, FP2, D1 At A2 Further Maths- FP3, D2, S1

additional question: is FP2 considered to be at AS generally or at A2?

I have never done further maths before
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    (Original post by emprex)
    I am a retake studentthis year I am doing maths and further maths and will be starting again from year 12I had AAD for C1, C2, M1I am still surprised how low I got for M1 and thats the reason I am taking it. I love mechanics and find statistics extremely difficult. So over the two years is this the easiest mathematics module set?AS Maths- C1, C2, M1 A2 Maths- C3, C4, M2

You can technically do FP2 at AS FM but I wouldn't suggest it (not that it matters if you're doing it all in one go).

You said you find statistics extremely difficult (and you got a low mechanics grade as well) but I would say try again with stats. I did FP1-2, S1-4, M1 and D1 for FM (and 2 applied modules go to A-level maths) and the stats is fine to self teach, and I would say that was the easiest combination for someone who doesn't find stats boring or difficult.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by emprex)

I did FP2 for my AS FM, but I have to say, it's a beast of a module unless you know C3/4 very well. If you're not confident with C3/4, then I wouldn't recommend trying to do FP2 early. I'd recommend you put S1 in AS FM and keep FP2 as an A2 unit. *