Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm self teaching GCSE maths as I want to get a grade C to give me more options if/when I go back to teacher training (I got a D at school which was 14 years ago and Level 2 Numeracy more recently). I've found somewhere that'll let me take the exam with them but I'm wondering if I should do higher or foundation? Obviously foundation is going to be easier but I heard it's easier to get a C on the higher paper as you only need 33% to get it. I did intermediate at school but this doesn't seem to be an option anymore.

ReputationRep:
    It depends how confident you are. My fianceé self taught herself last year for the foundation (she only needed a C), we wasn't too confident she'd pass as it was her weak subject, and she'd only started revising from March onwards.
    But she ended up with a C which surprised us both.
    If you only need a C, go for the foundation. If you're confident you can do better, go for the higher. A lot of the stuff on the higher papers did confuse my partner, so maybe try looking at past papers before you decide?
    Good luck in whatever you choose.

ReputationRep:
    I would do higher because you can score less on that paper to get a C - and there is even a possibility of getting a higher grade than that. But like you said foundation is easier... Yet you'd probably have to learn most or all of the specification whereas on higher you'd probably only need the C-grade topics.

ReputationRep:
    I would say go for foundation, if you have been out of education for a while then foundation would be easier to ease back into. Plus doing higher will only knock your confidence down, if you struggle with it. I would play it safe and pick foundation.

ReputationRep:
    Don't do foundation. You are limiting yourself.
    Use youtube and many past papers.

ReputationRep: