Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Moving in together first time renters. Watch

Hi all me and my boyfriend have been together for 8 months and we are looking at moving in together, we both live in the South West of England however where he lives is cheaper than where i do to rent.

£650 PCM

He works and i do however i will be required to leave my job which i don't mind as i have been there 4 years (Looking for something new)

I have 5k + in savings.and he has a few thousand to, however is credit rating is not great so he asked me to put the flat in my name only.

Is this is a wise move to make? As i don't know anything tbh about renting so i'm new to all of this.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    Is this is a wise move to make?
    No, because...

As i don't know anything tbh about renting so i'm new to all of this.
    Do not, under any circumstances, sign a contract or a tenancy agreement or whatever else if you have no idea what you are getting into.

Once your signature goes on that paper you are obligated by law to adhere to whatever it is you just agreed on, and if you've misread something or missed it entirely then the responsibility falls on you. Also if you are the sole person assigned to the agreement then your boyfriend has no obligation to make payments, meaning he could just walk out one day and leave you with massive debt.

Seek help from the adults in your life, or even go to a professional.
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    Make yourself joint tenants as then you share the liability. Even with a default on his credit rating he could still rent from many landlords so that's no excuse really.