Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I plan on doing a phd in biochemistry but I need advice on where to start. I live in woodbridge and have 2 children here so my only options are Essex and East Anglia for undergrad. Essex has a 3 year BSc and EA has a 4 year MSc. I would love to finish a phd at Cambridge but as all 3 schools have a phd in biochemistry what advice can any students who've gone to any of these schools give me on the best route?

Thanks in advance!

ReputationRep:
    I was an Essex Biological Sciences student (had many cross over modules with Biochem) and I would say in terms of the University itself, they are both very similar. Built around the same time and offer similar course content. One thing to consider is that UEA is ranked higher than Essex but they are both decent universities. If I was you, I would visit both campuses on an open day and see which one you have a feel for.

When it comes to wanting to pursue a PhD at Cambridge, its comes more down to you as a person and your achievements. Wherever you go, I would recommend getting as much experience as you can and obtaining a solid 1st class degree to increase your chances. There are stats floating around somewhere which shows that Cambridge do offer postgraduate place to people that have gone to both Essex and UEA, so it's not impossible at either institution. I do however remember recalling that they offer slightly more places to UEA students.

I will be starting an MPhil at Cambridge this year, after obtaining a 1st at Essex, so it is by no means impossible. I think really it should come down to which University you prefer. League tables only say so much.

ReputationRep:
    Thank you very much for all the advice and congrats on getting into cambridge! Will be a dream come true for me. What will you be researching? Will you stay for a phd as well?