Self teaching GCSEs! Watch

The Nightingale
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Hi there!

I've heard people talking about simply getting hold of the syllabus for certain GCSEs, learning it and sitting the examination.

I'm currently a distance learning student, which is great, however, each GCSE costs about 300 quid to take on! Obviously you get a study pack, and tutors you can contact... but not much else!

I want to do Chemisty and Physics, however, I don't want my parents to have to fork out 600 pounds for me to do so.

How does the whole 'GCSE self- teaching from the syllabus' thing work? Do you just use text books? Is it still possible to gain A*s?

Help appreciated... muchly!
PeeWeeDan
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
(Original post by The Nightingale)
Hi there!

I've heard people talking about simply getting hold of the syllabus for certain GCSEs, learning it and sitting the examination.

I'm currently a distance learning student, which is great, however, each GCSE costs about 300 quid to take on! Obviously you get a study pack, and tutors you can contact... but not much else!

I want to do Chemisty and Physics, however, I don't want my parents to have to fork out 600 pounds for me to do so.

How does the whole 'GCSE self- teaching from the syllabus' thing work? Do you just use text books? Is it still possible to gain A*s?

Help appreciated... muchly!
I taught myself A-Level maths with recycled stuff from my brother and i'm more than competant to get an A, and GCSE is easy... As long as you can get into the exam hall, you can get an A*. i Advise CGP guides for Physics and Chemistry BTW.
kellywood_5
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago