Single gender accommodation for female students

Watch
SamihaTahsin
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I am an international student from Bangladesh, going to apply this fall and I was hoping to know about the possibilities of being accommodated at a single gender hall of residence. Any help and info will be appreciated. thanks in advance
loperdoper
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
You can request single-sex accomodation, but just so you're aware it limits you to one type of room (shared bathroom), so I presume this is in one building (Maynard House, as this is where I am).
I requested it and was awarded it, although I know someone else who didn't state a preference and they were put in single-sex accomodation, so I would presume the chances of getting it if you request it are high because not many people request it. Just make sure you apply early.
SamihaTahsin
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
(Original post by loperdoper)
You can request single-sex accomodation, but just so you're aware it limits you to one type of room (shared bathroom), so I presume this is in one building (Maynard House, as this is where I am).
I requested it and was awarded it, although I know someone else who didn't state a preference and they were put in single-sex accomodation, so I would presume the chances of getting it if you request it are high because not many people request it. Just make sure you apply early.

hey thanks for all the info. and no i actually have no issues with sharing a bathroom. it's just that i am less comfortable around boys as i can be quite shy and also from a moderately conservative background.

so could u please tell me more in details about Maynard house? is it for girls only? and how helpful is queen mary when meeting up to an applicant's preferences?
loperdoper
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by SamihaTahsin)