Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Chicken Korma recipe that is as good as a takeaway Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone! I could happily live off chicken korma but as of next week I am a student again and therefor cannot afford to regularly have Indian takeaways. Does anyone have a recipe for a creamy korma that I could make?*

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by KMLeeson)
    Hello everyone! I could happily live off chicken korma but as of next week I am a student again and therefor cannot afford to regularly have Indian takeaways. Does anyone have a recipe for a creamy korma that I could make?*
    Check YouTube

ReputationRep:
    If you're doing this from scratch (no jars) then I suggest you cook it in bulk. The spices are going to cost a fair bit but it is worth it if you cook regularly.

ReputationRep:
    Crikey! If takewaway Chicken Korma is the benchmark I wouldn't bother. Homemade curry will never taste like takeaway. My recipe for Korma is as follows:

Chop up and then fry and onion gently until it starts to go soft.
    Add 3 or 4 desert spoons of Pataks Korma Paste and cook off for a minute or two
    Add a tin off coconut milk
    Once it has gone lovely and creamy, add chopped chicken breast and cook until chicken is no longer raw in the middle.
    Serve ideally with chapati or nan, but if you must - rice.

It doesn't taste like takeaway food though. That would be like asking someone to give the recipe to a McDonalds Hamburger. Yuk!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by KMLeeson)
    I'd stay away from jarred pastes, especially the popular brands, they never taste that good. Having said that I have been impressed by the 'spice tailor' spice and sauce kits that are stocked in sainsburys and waitrose (possibly other shops too), considering I'm not normally a fan of pre-made pastes and sauces. They have a korma kit, I haven't tried that one but it may be worth a go for you.