Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How much do I need to know to do a Law Conversion/apply for vac schemes watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently a History student at UCL on track for a 2,1/1st (hopefully!!)
    So I'm thinking of doing a law conversion to boost my credentials as I like the idea of working in a corporate, stable environment and the methodological side of law. I know a girl at my uni who had loads of law awareness and had a weeks placement at a solicitors. She was applying for her vac scheme last year and even she found it hard (now has an amazing placement).
    Just how much do I need to know and talk about to apply for a vacation scheme with the hope of a training contract afterwards? How do I find this info? Do I just read around the type of law I want to do/company? I find it so confusing how much I'm meant to know beforehand! When I was considering it before I went to uni I thought I could learn everything as a beginner but seems I can't by the quality of people's applications. I've never actually learned about law in my life and have very little knowledge but I'm willing to learn as I will probably take a year out after I graduate next year. Would really appreciate any advice from people who've done the GDL/taken a different degree to law and is pursuing law now and how much I need to know before applying.

ReputationRep:
    I recommend going to as many legal careers events this Autumn at UCL before applying. They will inform you on all the things you are asking about.

UCL is highly targeted by law firms so there will be plenty of opportunities. Definitely go to the 2 day law fair at UCL too.

Also think about applying to some non-law open days/workshops too. As you are based in London these will be a great opportunity for someone in your position and lots of firms run them in their London offices.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Thank you for your helpful response.