Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So as I am over 25, I am classed as a dependant student, I have been self supporting myself since I was 18 years old. I also have a child.

I am going into my second year of university in September.

Last year I was single, and living at home was just my son and I.

So i was entitled to full loan and some grants as i gave up work when i started university.

However,

I now have a boyfriend, who works, for tax credits reasons and so he can legally stay at my house , I am going to add him to my Child Tax Credit claim as i dont want to commit fraud with him staying over most the week.

However, its a relatively new set up.

Do i now have to contact student finance and get reassed with his wages?
    Ideally I do not want to. I want to be independent, not relying on my new boyfriends wages as my income.

Can i still do my student finance alone?
    Do Tax credits inform SFE that someone has moved in with me, for me. Or do i still need to ring them?

Its all new to me this

p.s

Im 25, and my boyfriend is 24
    Thanks
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    (Original post by Sophia90)
    So as I am over 25, I am classed as a dependant student, I have been self supporting myself since I was 18 years old. I also have a child.

I am going into my second year of university in September.

Last year I was single, and living at home was just my son and I.

So i was entitled to full loan and some grants as i gave up work when i started university.

However,

I now have a boyfriend, who works, for tax credits reasons and so he can legally stay at my house , I am going to add him to my Child Tax Credit claim as i dont want to commit fraud with him staying over most the week.