Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,
    I'm applying through UCAS to get into a biology course but I really need some help 'cause I'm having some doubts about my application.
    First of all: I'm currently studying for my undergraduate in Italy and I should get my degree on Septermber, which is when I would eventually start my new degree. I already chatted with some tutors from Edinburgh University to ask if that would have been a problem but they weren't able to answer me, even though they were optimistic about that. Anyone has ever had a similar problem?

Second question; I'd want to take up another undergraduate to integrate my first one (Natural Science degree) and I'm really fond of biology, especially genetics and stam cells. I've seen that some Universities (i.e. Edinburgh) have the first 2 years similar and the next ones specialized in a subject, which is wonderful, but when I'm applying do I already have to select which subject I'd like to study in the end?
    example: biology is C100 genetics c400. If I select C100 will I be unable to study Genetics the last two years? Is there any differences about the probability of getting in if I select C100 or C400?

Third and last; do you think I'll get more chances of getting in because of my first degree (which is in the same field) or not? My high school degree were pretty good and I'm also getting good grades in University.

Thank you
    ps: sorry for my bad English, hope you'll understand what I'm talking about anyway, if not, please tell me

• See more of what you like on The Student Room

You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

• Poll
    Are unpaid trial work shifts fair?
    Applying to uni

All the essentials

The adventure begins mug

Student life: what to expect

What it's really like going to uni

Graduates celebrate

How to write a good personal statement