Access course to medicine entry requirements query.

Watch
ameliasophie
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hey Guys,
I just wanted to lay out the context of my academic and future professional background before I establish the questions related to access course to medicine. Firstly, I am a second year student nurse in a three year nursing degree in university, studying adult nursing. I had a sort of epiphany like experience in my first year as a student nurse (which is an overly inconvenient thing when I look back to it retrospectively) about potentially considering medicine in my late twenties. I am passionate about becoming an A&E nurse after I graduate, but I feel like I want to become a doctor in the future.
I will graduate and be a fully qualified RGN at the age of 22 and I thought about working in A&E until I'm 27 years old. At the age of 28 I'm thinking about applying to an Access Course to medicine at Sussexs Downs College. In view of this , however, I have already done Biology at AS level which I did not get a good mark at (an E) which I dropped in college, so that I didn't continue it to A2. In many of the access course to medicine, in the entry requirement it is clearly stipulated that they will not accept any applicants whom have had a science background beyond GCSE level.Although, I did overall get good A level scores: ABB in Health and Social Care Double Award (AB) and English Literature (B), which are not technically science related.
So overall my main question is , do you think that the educational institutions that offer Access Course to Medicine will still consider me as a potential applicant considering the nursing experience I will gain by the age of 27 in lieu of the fact that I studied AS level Biology? I do love Biology because I'm currently learning about Anatomy and Physiology in my nursing course but I felt disconnected my Biology course in College which overall reflected in my AS grade.