Huge decision: A-level English Language or I.T.?

Watch
Jamie Vardy
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I haven't yet established what my fourth option will be and school starts on Monday. I got one mark off a B in English Language but after having a private meeting with my Sixth Form yesterday, they have suggested that I should take it because I achieved an A grade in English Literature. However, I never thought I'd be doing Language again as it has never appealed to me in the past.

I.T., on the other hand, offers a different sort of course than Computer Science (what I studied at GCSE) and I'm not really into databases, application design etc.

I am very confused and unsure as to which A-level I should pick. My three other options comprise of Maths, Further Maths and Business Studies.

Thank you in advance.
Metalfros
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I cannot give you a very good advice unless you tell me if you have an idea what you want to study after your A Levels. Although I would probably recommend taking English. It would be good to have at least one essay based subject.
rosemondtan
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
As the previous person has already mentioned, I'd say go for English Language (or even Literature, why not?) You seem to have some very technical subjects there (with the exception of business studies) so I'd say opting for a Humanities subject will give your combination a nice balance. It depends entirely on what you want to do in the future though!
Jamie Vardy
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
(Original post by rosemondtan)
As the previous person has already mentioned, I'd say go for English Language (or even Literature, why not?) You seem to have some very technical subjects there (with the exception of business studies) so I'd say opting for a Humanities subject will give your combination a nice balance. It depends entirely on what you want to do in the future though!