Experience for midwifery!

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm hoping to apply for Midwifery in the next few weeks, however I'm worried about getting rejected. I've read up and spoken to midwives about how competitive the course is to get onto, which worries me. I've read that you need a high level of experience and I'm worried I just don't have enough, are there any current or past midwifery students or midwives themselves who could offer some advice?

I'm studying Level 3 Health Sciences BTEC. I was a birthing partner for my mum when she had my little sister 2 years ago, I'll be 19 when I start uni. I did 2 weeks work experience in a care home too. I'm currently being processed to volunteer on the orthopaedics ward at my local hospital. Also in contact with a private ultrasound company who do obstetric ultrasounds to do a day of shadowing. I've been in contact with sure start centres around my area and am waiting to hear back from them. Is there anything else I can do?
    I got B/B in dual award science at GCSE. I'm predicted 3 D* in my current college course too.

Any advice is appreciated, I'm already a year behind and I'm worried about wasting years upon years applying for midwifery, I've heard of people applying 4 years in a row and not getting in!

ReputationRep:
    I'm applying for Adult Nursing but have a few ideas that may help you, It's worth seeing if you can shadow a midwife or volunteer in a maternity department, breastfeeding support groups or charities such as Kicks Count. In the end what ever experience you get, you will gain transferable skills.
    Midwifery is competitive but if you have the right personal qualities & a passion for caring for women & providing the best care then this will show in your personal statement and at your interview.