Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am an A-Level student who is currently dreaming of going to LSE to do a BSc in Economics! I just got my GCSE results and achieved 6 A*s, 4 As and 2 Bs. For Economics, the LSE website says that a B in GCSE English Language, and an A at GCSE Maths. I met this and got a B in English Language and an A in Maths. I have just started Year 12 and have not done my A-Levels yet, but can anyone tell me if I have a good chance of getting in? I have been told that the top Universities are putting added emphasis on GCSE Results now!I am getting really mixed responses about GCSEs and their importance at LSE! Would someone who actually KNOWS about their admissions policies, please help answer my questions? I would be really grateful!

So far, do I have a good chance of getting in, or not?

ReputationRep:
    I got 5A*8As and 1B and i got in, they're quite similar to your grades. But my course was for management. In terms of having a chance, you do have a chance of getting in, in fact the B i got was in economics!! But, a straight economics course at LSE is very competitive and they put a lot of emphasis on maths. So at AS try and get a very high score in your maths modules (90+ums), becase they will ask you for your ums. But, check the other courses out too, like joint courses, e.g. economics and/with history, economics and politics, accounting and finance, there might be other courses that you'll also find very interesting, you'll have a greater chance of getting in, and they won't ask you about your maths ums, the requirement for those courses are usually AAA.